2014 JUZZ ROC THE MIC AWARD FOR BEST MALE HIP HOP ARTIST

by parkisum

image

Taking pictures after my award wn

THIS ALL STARTED BACK IN 2003 AS A FRESHMAN IN CURTIS HIGH SCHOOL, LOCATED ON A FORGOTTEN BOROUGH CALL STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK. I WAS 13 YEARS OLD.

image

Performing "im on my wu-tang shit"

I REMEMBER CALLING MYSELF “BURN DA ANNIHILATOR” EVEN THO AT THE TIME I WAS NO ANNIHILATOR. I WAS STILL LEARNING HOW TO RAP AND WRITE POETRY.  BEFORE THAT I USE TO MAKE STORIES. CREEPY ONES.. SOMETIMES (AND EVEN NOW) WRITING STORIES HELP RELIEF MY ANGER AND HATE WHEN I FIRST MOVE TO STATEN ISLAND. IT EVEN TOOK YEARS TO EVEN LIKE ACTS LIKE WU-TANG CLAN OR THE UMC’S. BECAUSE THEY WERE FROM STATEN ISLAND AND NOT BECAUSE THEY WERE LYRICAL.  STARTED GETTING USE TO WRITING POEMS AND STORIES THAT I SOON MET WRITER MR. WALTER DEAN MYERS..

image

Performing my hit single "burnuminati"

TO ME. WALTER DEAN MYERS IS THE GREATEST WRITER EVER.. (STILL IS) AND FROM THERE I JUST STARTED WRITING AND WRITING.. STILL DIDN’T TRANSLATE INTO BEING A RAPPER. NOT UNTIL 2010. NOW I’M 20 YEARS OLD LEARNING TO BE A MAN AT A YOUNG AGE. UPS AND DOWNS I ALLOW MYSELF IN (OR PUT MYSELF IN) AND ALSO MOVING TO ELIZABETH, NEW JERSEY. THAT’S WHERE AN ARTIST NAME JAYBURN FIRST ARRIVED ON TO THE SCENE.

image

RECORDED 7 BULLSHIT SONGS WITH A CAMERA (AND A FEW WAYS OF TURNING IT INTO MP3) THUS CAME THE MIXTAPE “WELCOME TO THE FUTURE – DOPESICK JAYBURN” LIKE I SAID, I DIDN’T KNOW WHERE TO RECORD WHEN I LIVE IN ELIZABETH. I DOUBT THERE WAS ANY STUDIOS AT THAT TIME. THEN CAME BACK TO STATEN ISLAND AND DROP “DISTORTED MUSIC EP” USING THE PROGRAM AUDACITY.. THEN THE NEXT YEAR I GOT THE BALLS TO FINALLY GO TO THE STUDIO (SHOUTOUTS TO DW COOP AND JAMES JONES) AND THUS DROP “IT’S A COLD DAY IN HELL” AND THE NEXT YEAR DROP THE FOLLOW UP CALL “BURN SEASON : THE J.A.B. TAPES. EVERYTHING WAS LOOKING GOOD UNTIL I STOP RAPPING..

I STAY AWAY FROM HIP HOP FOR THE NEXT THREE MONTHS UNTIL I CAN FIX AND WORK ON MYSELF AS A HUMAN. I’M STILL WORKING ON THAT AND AFTER I COMPLETED MY PROGRAM FOR A BETTER JOB. I CAME BACK TO THE BOOTH WITH LESS ANGER AND MORE FOCUS WITH MY RAP. RECORDED THREE TRACKS AT CYBERTRON STUDIOS (SHOUTOUTS TO AGENT BLURR, I.M. AND JODI DA REAL) THE FIRST TWO I RELEASE TO THE PUBLIC AS SINGLES AND SOON WOULD BECOME MINOR HITS (DARK VISION AND BURNUMINATI) I STARTED REFOCUSING ON MY CRAFT. WORKING ON WHAT I CAN DO TO MAKE ME A BETTER RAPPER.. THEN STARTED WORKING WITH AMERCIAN WASTE CAMP RECORDS (SHOUTOUTS TO UPTOWN GULLY, T-LOCK, JAQUAN THE DON, NEW HIYO, THE WOLF, DARK CLOUD, SLAP AND GO PRODUCTIONS, ITZ DA KOPPA AND MELLY MILLZ) AND SINCE THEN THEY ALLOW ME TO BE MYSELF.

THEN AFTER THE GROUP I STARTED (VICTORY MEANS GREATNESS) BROKE UP. I STARTED GOING BACK AND DROPPING SONGS AND SONGS WITH NO END. FELT LIKE IT WAS MY TIME TO MAKE A NAME FOR MYSELF.. SOON AFTERWARDS I GOT AN EMAIL SAYING THAT I GOT NOMINATED FOR AN AWARD AT JUZZ ROC THE MIC (SHOUTOUTS TO KEMOSTRY AND SHAWN SMITH) THAT ALONE CAP OFF A OVERALL GOOD YEAR .  THEN A MONTH LATER. I WON FOR BEST MALE HIP-HOP ARTIST.

image

Accepting the award

image

STILL IN SHOCK


THANKS TO EVERYONE FROM LOVE ONES TO FAMILY TO EVEN PEOPLE I USED TO TALK TO AND EVEN THE ASSHOLES WHO DIDN’T RESPECT ME AS AN ARTIST. THANKS TO ALL WHO VOTED.

image

Performing im on

GOT MUCH WORK TO DO BUT I WILL NEVER FORGET. NOW IT’S TIME TO GET BACK TO THE BOOTH, WRITE MORE GREAT SONGS, DO VIDEOS AND REACH HIGHER. NETWORK MUCH MORE ONLINE AND IN PERSON AND DROPS SOME CDS. 2O15 WILL BE A LEGENDARY YEAR. FROM A YOUNG KID LIVING IN THE FORGOTTEN BOROUGH IF STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK. NOW THE AGE OF 25 YEARS OLD (B.DAY IS NOVEMBER 22)

THANKS FOR READING ALONE MY BRIEF RAP LIFE.  TO BE CONTINUE. BUURRRNNNN!

image

Best male hip hop artist

image

the proof that I wasn't lying

